Atlas, Chrome Lacrosse Clubs Announce Championship Series Coaching Staff

By PLL | Feb 17, 2023

LOS ANGELES – Feb. 17, 2023 – The Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) powered by Ticketmaster today announced coaching personnel for the Atlas and Chrome Lacrosse Clubs for the PLL Championship Series taking place February 22-26 at The St. James in Springfield, VA, and airing on ESPN platforms.  

Steven Brooks will continue to serve as interim head coach for Atlas Lacrosse Club through the Championship Series. Former head coach and general manager of the Philadelphia Barrage and retired professional lacrosse player, Spencer Ford has also joined the Atlas staff as interim assistant coach for the Championship Series. 

Chrome Lacrosse Club will be led by Jacques Monte as acting head coach for the Championship Series, filling in for head coach and general manager Tim Soudan, who cannot attend due to a scheduling conflict. Coach Monte will be assisted by Matt Kerwick.

Coaching staffs for all participating teams are as follows:

  • Archers
      • Chris Bates - Head Coach
      • Brian Kavanagh - Assistant Coach
  • Atlas
      • Steven Brooks - Interim Head Coach
      • Spencer Ford - Interim Assistant Coach
  • Chrome
      • Jacques Monte - Acting Head Coach
      • Matt Kerwick - Assistant Coach
  • Whipsnakes
    • Jim Stagnitta - Head Coach
    • P.T. Ricci - Assistant Coach

The Championship Series kicks off on Wednesday, February 22 at The St. James in Springfield, VA, with the Whipsnakes facing the Atlas at 5:30pm ET airing on ESPN2 and streaming on ESPN+. The top four teams from the regular season – Whipsnakes (1), Chrome (2), Archers (3), Atlas (4) – will compete in the round-robin, six-on-six tournament inspired by the Lacrosse Sixes game format under consideration for Olympic inclusion in 2028. 

All nine-games of the Championship Series will air on ESPN platforms, with every game available on ESPN+. View the full game schedule here.

The Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) powered by Ticketmaster is a men’s professional lacrosse league in North America, composed of eight teams rostered by the best players in the world. Co-founded by lacrosse superstar, philanthropist, and investor Paul Rabil and his brother, serial entrepreneur and investor, Mike Rabil, the PLL is backed by an investment group composed of Joe Tsai Sports, The Chernin Group, Arctos Sports Partners, Brett Jefferson Holdings, The Raine Group, Creative Artists Agency (CAA), The Kraft Group, Bolt Capital and other top investors in sports and media. The PLL is distributed through an exclusive media rights agreement with ABC, ESPN, ESPN2, and ESPN+. The PLL was named 2020 Sports Breakthrough by the Sports Business Journal, and recognized as a 2021 Best Employer in Sports by  Front Office Sports. For more on the league, visit www.premierlacrosseleague.com and follow on social media: Instagram (@PLL), Twitter (@PremierLacrosse), Facebook (@PremierLacrosseLeague), YouTube (YouTube.com/PLL) and TikTok (@pll).