Premier Lacrosse League Announces Names of Championship Series Awards

By PLL | Aug 11, 2020

Los Angeles, CA. (August 11, 2020) -  The Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) has announced the names and descriptions of its individual end-of-tournament awards. Finalists and winners will be announced later this week in addition to the All-Tournament Team (consisting of 10 players).

Jim Brown MVP of the Championship Series: Winner - Zed Williams (Whipsnakes LC)
Widely regarded as the best athlete of all time in any sport, Jim Brown dominated in both collegiate and football lacrosse while a student at Syracuse University. A member of the NFL Hall of Fame, the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, and a three-time NFL Most Valuable Player, Brown’s on-field accomplishments are remarkable. To honor Brown’s career, this award is given to the most valuable player of the Championship Series. The Jim Brown MVP was awarded to Whipsnakes LC attackman Zed Williams following the conclusion of the Championship Game. 

Eamon McEneaney Attackman of the Championship Series:
Behind the performance of Eamon McEneaney, Cornell Lacrosse won back-to-back NCAA titles in 1976 and 1977, with McEneaney winning Most Outstanding Player for his performance in 1977. For his contributions to the game, McEneaney was elected to the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1992 and the NCAA Silver Anniversary Lacrosse Team in 1995. While serving as a Vice President at Cantor Fitzgerald, McEneaney lost his life during the September 11 attacks while in the World Trade Center. In memory of Eamon McEneaney, this award is given to the best attackman of the Championship Series.

Dave Pietramala Defenseman of the Championship Series:
Dave Pietramala is regarded as the best defensemen to ever play the game. A National Champion player and coach and a World Champion with the US National Team, Pietramala is one of the most decorated figures in the game. Pietramala additionally holds the distinction of being the only athlete in lacrosse history to be named National Player of the Year and National Coach of the Year. This award is given to the best defenseman of the Championship Series.

George Boiardi SSDM of the Championship Series:
A standout performer and four-year starter during his time at Cornell, Boiardi tragically lost his life when he was struck by a ball in the chest during a game in 2004. An inductee to the Cornell University Hall of Fame, Boiardi’s name is synonymous in the lacrosse world with the dedication and selflessness that endeared him to his teammates and family. This award is given to the best short-stick defensive midfielder of the Championship Series

Brodie Merrill LSM of the Championship Series:
With unparalleled ability to stop opponents while also making electric plays in the middle and offensive ends of the field, Brodie Merrill revolutionized the long stick midfield position. Merrill was a staple on the Canadian National Team for four terms and a regular All-Star in both the indoor and outdoor game. This award is given to the best Long-stick midfielder of the Championship Series.

Paul Cantabene Face-Off Athlete of the Championship Series:
Always known as one of the most intense and hardest working lacrosse players, Paul Cantabene was an All-American during his time at Loyola and a perennial All-Star in both the indoor and outdoor professional game. Nationally known for his durability, toughness and unrelenting will to win, Cantabene remains one of the best lacrosse players of all time. This award is given to the best face-off athlete of the Championship Series. 

Gait Brothers Midfielder of the Championship Series:
Through their unparalleled combination of athleticism, stick skills, and lacrosse IQ, brothers Paul and Gary Gait revolutionized the midfield position. Both four-time NCAA All-Americans, NCAA national champions, professional indoor and outdoor champions, Canadian National Team legends, and members of the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, the Gait brothers were first true superstars of the sport. This award is given to the best midfielder of the Championship Series.

Oren Lyons Goalie of the Championship Series:
Chief Oren Lyons attended Syracuse University, where he was an All-American and National Champion while leading the school to an undefeated season. As an active member of the Onondaga reservation, he remains a leading advocate of international indigenous rights for over four decades. This award is given to the best goalie of the Championship Series.

Golden Stick Award:
The Golden Stick Award is presented to the leading goalscorer during the PLL Championship Series.

The Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) is a men’s professional lacrosse league in North America, composed of 7 teams rostered with the best players in the world. Co-founded by lacrosse superstar Paul Rabil and his brother, serial entrepreneur and investor, Mike Rabil, the Premier Lacrosse League is backed by an investment group composed of Joe Tsai Sports, Brett Jefferson Holdings, The Raine Group, Creative Artists Agency (CAA), and other top investors in sports and media. The PLL season is distributed through an exclusive media-rights agreement with NBC Sports Group. For more information, visit www.premierlacrosseleague.com and follow on social media: Instagram (@PLL), Twitter (@PremierLacrosse), Facebook (@PremierLacrosseLeague) and YouTube (YouTube.com/PLL).