Premier Lacrosse League Announces New Player Compensation Structure, Free Agency Beginning in 2023

By PLL | Dec 17, 2021

LOS ANGELES, CA. (December 17, 2021) - The Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) powered by Ticketmaster has announced a new player compensation structure.

The new structure will pave the way for free agency in the 2023 offseason, empowering players to explore opportunities to maximize earning potential and playing time. Players can negotiate contracts of one, two, three, and four years with one of the league’s clubs.

League Co-Founder and President, Paul Rabil, talked about the PLL’s next iteration, saying, “Our Lacrosse Player and Product team has been working diligently over the last 18 months to build the next iteration of the competitive experience for our players and coaches. As our Clubs have formed, rivalries fused, and players won and lost, creating an independent structure of wage assignments, trades and free agency to each Club will only amplify the competitive spirit and performance on-field. We can’t wait to see what the PLL will look like in 2022 and beyond.”

“I’m extremely excited to see that the PLL is starting free agency,” said Atlas LC captain Trevor Baptiste. “It’s important that players continue to have leverage and are able to find the right situation for them.”

Head coaches will now formally hold the title of Head Coach & General Manager. Player salaries will be negotiated with the Coach/GM.

“This move gives coaches the ability to execute what the players have requested by evaluating their performance and value to a team,” said Whipsnakes LC head coach Jim Stagnitta. “We’re evolving as a league. This brings us in line with the way other pro sports leagues operate.”

“The new compensation structure is a necessary step for the league’s growth,” said Waterdogs LC head coach and 2021 Dick Edell Coach of the Year Andy Copelan. “As head coaches and general managers, we will have increased responsibility and ownership over roster-building decisions.”

An off-season roster movement window will open on January 18th.

The 2022 Player Signing Window will begin on January 24th and close on April 1st.


The Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) powered by Ticketmaster is a men’s professional lacrosse league in North America, composed of 8 teams rostered with the best players in the world. Co-founded by lacrosse superstar, philanthropist, and investor Paul Rabil and his brother, serial entrepreneur and investor, Mike Rabil, the Premier Lacrosse League is backed by an investment group composed of Joe Tsai Sports, Brett Jefferson Holdings, The Raine Group, Creative Artists Agency (CAA), Chernin Group, Blum Capital, The Kraft Group, Arctos Sports Partners, and other top investors in sports and media. The PLL was named Sports Breakthrough of the Year in 2020 by the Sports Business Journal and is distributed through an exclusive media-rights agreement with NBC Universal. In December 2020, the PLL and Major League Lacrosse (MLL) announced a merger with subsequent season operations and activities to formally exist under the PLL. For more information, visit and follow on social media: Instagram (@PLL), Twitter (@PremierLacrosse), Facebook (@PremierLacrosseLeague), YouTube ( and TikTok (@pll).

Share This With Friends