Premier Lacrosse League Announces New Playoff, All-Star Game Format for 2024 Season

By PLL | Jan 3, 2024

LOS ANGELES – Jan. 3, 2024 – The Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) powered by Ticketmaster today announced changes to the league’s playoff format following its adoption of a two-conference structure for the 2024 season. 

In the regular season, PLL teams will play in-conference opponents twice, and out-of-conference opponents once. Under the new playoff format, the Eastern and Western Conference winners will receive a first-round bye, with remaining teams to be seeded based on their overall record. The two bottom performing teams through the regular season will be eliminated from playoff contention.

“In this new era of the PLL, teams and fans will see new rivalries emerge, as teams compete for conference titles with playoff seeding implications in their pursuit to bring home a PLL Championship,” said Paul Rabil, Co-Founder and President of the Premier Lacrosse League. “A more competitive playoff structure, including an East vs. West All-Star Game, will be exciting evolutions for our teams, players and fans.”

For the first time in league history, the PLL All-Star Game will feature a conference-based matchup, with fan-voted All-Stars from teams in the Eastern Conference facing All-Stars from the Western Conference. The Boston Cannons, New York Atlas, Philadelphia Waterdogs, and Maryland Whipsnakes make up the Eastern Conference, with the Carolina Chaos, Denver Outlaws, Utah Archers, and California Redwoods representing the Western Conference.

The PLL recently assigned its eight teams to home cities, marking the league’s biggest investment since its inception in 2018. The top four teams from the 2023 season will be the first to represent their home markets at the 2024 PLL Championship Series, this February 14-19 at The St. James near Washington, D.C. The Utah Archers, Boston Cannons, California Redwoods, and Philadelphia Waterdogs will compete in the Olympic Sixes game format, set to return lacrosse to the Olympics at the Los Angeles 2028 Summer Games. 

The view the PLL’s 2024 Regular Season Schedule and join the presale for tickets, visit

About the Premier Lacrosse League
The Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) powered by Ticketmaster is a men’s professional lacrosse league in North America, composed of eight teams rostered by the best players in the world. Co-founded by lacrosse superstar, philanthropist, and investor Paul Rabil and his brother, serial entrepreneur and investor, Mike Rabil, the PLL is backed by an investment group composed of Joe Tsai Sports, The Chernin Group, Arctos Sports Partners, Brett Jefferson Holdings, The Raine Group, Creative Artists Agency (CAA), The Kraft Group, Bolt Capital and other top investors in sports and media. The PLL is distributed through an exclusive media rights agreement with ABC, ESPN, ESPN2, and ESPN+. The PLL was named 2020 Sports Breakthrough by the Sports Business Journal, and recognized as a 2021 Best Employer in Sports by  Front Office Sports. For more on the league, visit and follow on social media: Instagram (@PLL), Twitter (@PremierLacrosse), Facebook (@PremierLacrosseLeague), YouTube ( and TikTok (@pll).