Maryland Whipsnakes

The State of Lacrosse


Our Team

Lacrosse is Maryland's sport - and the Whipsnakes are Maryland's team. The winningest franchise in PLL history, stacked with University of Maryland alumni - this team bleeds red, black, and yellow. Join Whips Nation as we seek to bring PLL Championships where they belong: to the great state of Maryland.


2X PLL Champions

Matt Rambo (2019 MVP) and Zed Williams (2020 MVP) led the Whipsnakes to back-to-back titles in 2019 and 2020 – becoming only the third team in pro lacrosse history to repeat as champions.


Maryland DNA

Maryland has been in our blood since the team’s inception in 2019. With a league-high 10 University of Maryland alumni on our roster, our roots run deep.


History of Excellence

Led by legendary head coach and general manager Jim Stagnitta, the Whipsnakes Lacrosse Club won back-to-back PLL Championships in 2019 and 2020. We know what it takes to win at this level. And we’re hungry to hoist the trophy again.

Our Crest


Your Stars


Matt Rambo

A bruising dodger at attack, 2017 Tewaaraton Award winner led the Terps to their first title since 1973 as a senior in College Park. Matt Rambo has been the quarterback of the Whipsnakes offense since 2019, leading the team to back-to-back titles.


Zed Williams

Soft-spoken and humble, Zed Williams of the Seneca Nation is one of the best goal scorers in lacrosse. Zed's six-goal performance in the 2020 Championship helped the Whipsnakes complete a perfect season.


Michael Ehrhardt

Standing 6-foot-5, Michael Ehrhardt's presence between the arcs is enormous. The five-time Brodie Merrill LSM of the Year has 92 career points (3rd all-time among longpoles).