COLUMBUS (April 16, 2019) - The Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) announced today that the first weekend of playoffs will be played at MAPFRE Stadium in Columbus, Ohio on September 6 and 7, 2019.

The first of three total weekends of PLL playoff action will commence on Friday with a matchup under the lights and culminate with a two more matches on Saturday. Columbus now joins Boston, New York, Chicago, Baltimore, Atlanta, Washington D.C., Los Angeles, and San Jose as PLL host cities announced for the inaugural season. Remaining PLL host cities will be named over the next month leading up to the PLL’s debut season, starting on June 1. PLL action will be shown throughout the season on a combination of NBC, NBC Sports and, and NBC Sports Gold.

“The PLL is thrilled to bring high-octane playoff action to Ohio,” says PLL Chief Executive Officer Mike Rabil. “Columbus has been penciled into our calendars as a host city for a long time - their ever-growing sport participants and larger lacrosse fanbase will make this a weekend to remember for a long time. We can’t think of a more premier venue than MAPFRE Stadium to begin postseason play.”


The Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) brings the sport of lacrosse to a national stage for the first time through a tour-based model, complete with the best players the sport has to offer. Co-founded by lacrosse superstar, philanthropist, and investor Paul Rabil and his brother, serial entrepreneur and investor, Mike Rabil, the Premier Lacrosse League is backed by an investment group comprised of The Raine Group, Creative Artists Agency (CAA), the Chernin Group, and Blum Capital. The PLL season will begin in June 2019 with six teams embarking on a 14-week season that concludes with a playoff and PLL Championship Game. The PLL season will be distributed through an exclusive media-rights agreement with NBC Sports Group. For more information, visit and follow on social media: Instagram (@PLL), Twitter(@PremierLacrosse), Facebook (@PremierLacrosseLeague) and YouTube (


MAPFRE Stadium (pronounced “MAH-fray" Stadium) is the first ever soccer-specific stadium in Major League Soccer. It opened its doors on May 15, 1999 to a sellout crowd for a match against the New England Revolution and in 2016 Columbus Crew SC set single-season MAPFRE Stadium records for sellouts and total attendance. MAPFRE Stadium has hosted numerous national and international events: 10 U.S. Soccer FIFA World Cup Qualifiers – specifically four “Dos a Cero” victories for the U.S. over Mexico (2001, 2005, 2009, 2013) – FIFA Women's World Cup matches, the 2001 MLS Cup, the 2015 MLS Cup and two MLS All-Star Games. MAPFRE Stadium is also the host, through 2020, of the Ohio High School Athletic Association’s (OHSAA) state championship matches for boys’ and girls’ soccer. Beyond major sporting events, the venue continues to host numerous concerts. The venue was named the world's most influential stadium of the decade by Stadia Magazine in 2010 and has won a Sports Turf Managers Association Field of the Year Award in 2010, 2013 and 2015. In 2008, the venue added a permanent stage in the North End, allowing for up to 35,000 fans to take in concerts and other marquee events. MAPFRE Stadium received its current name in a historic partnership announced in 2015.

Share This With Friends