What You Probably Didn’t Know About Each Atlas All-Star

By Lauren Merola | Jul 22, 2023

Atlas LC boasts seven original All-Star selections, the most of any club.

Trevor Baptiste, Jeff Teat, Chris Gray, Bryan Costabile, Danny Logan, Gavin Adler and Brett Makar were the original 2023 All-Star selections from Atlas. Baptiste, Gray and Logan will sit out the weekend due to injuries, meaning Xander Dickson and Romar Dennis are the next All-Stars up.

Some of the players have posted stats or have stories too good not to share, so let’s get to know all the 2023 Atlas All-Stars:

1. Trevor Baptiste

In Week 4, Baptiste won 27 of 31 faceoffs against the Cannons, moving into 10th on the all-time wins list with 798 wins.

The next game against Chaos, Baptiste again owned the stripe, winning 23 of 29 matchups, amassing 821 total career wins. While still in 10th, Baptiste is now only 23 wins away from overtaking the ninth spot.

It’s a ladder he’ll keep climbing this season.

Averaging 23 faceoff wins per game, Baptiste could realistically jump Thomas Kelly in eighth, who has 940 wins, in the remaining five regular-season games. Baptiste’s 2023 season average at the stripe and his career average per game (16.8) are highest of the top 25 players on the all-time faceoff wins list. 

2. Jeff Teat

Teat opened up the game against the Cannons in Week 4 with a goal, which was his 100th point as a professional field lacrosse player. 

Teat amassed 100 points (51G, 1T, 47A) in 24 career games, joining the likes of Waterdogs midfielder Kieran McArdle, Cannons attackman Lyle Thompson and Redwoods attackman Rob Pannell to do it in the same time.

The fastest players to reach 100 points are Ryan Boyle and Kevin Rice, who accrued it in 22 games.

But there is one indelible caveat: when adjusted for game length, Teat is the fastest player in pro lacrosse history to 100 points. 

Major League Lacrosse games were 1.25 times longer than PLL games are. When converted, Boyle (who played 11 years in the MLL) and Rice (who played four years in the MLL and one in the PLL)  recorded 100 points in 27.5 games. Teat did it in 24.

3. Chris Gray

The Atlas attackman went pro after a stellar career at Boston University and UNC, which he committed to transfer to under the bleachers at Yankee Stadium.

In June 2019, Gray called UNC coach Joe Breschi from the Bronx stadium and told Breschi he would transfer to Chapel Hill for his final three years of eligibility, including the additional year granted to NCAA athletes during COVID-19.

There, he posted 299 points in 51 games. As a graduate student during the 2022 season, Gray led the Tar Heels in goals (48) and assists (32). He finished first in the ACC in points and was selected as a Tewaaraton Award finalist for the second straight season. On May 2, in his final regular-season collegiate game, Gray set the new NCAA Division I career points record – passing Lyle Thompson (400) – with 401.

Gray was the No. 2 pick in the 2022 PLL Draft and a Rookie of the Year candidate. Now, he’s a two-time All-Star in his first two years as a pro.

4. Brett Makar

What’s something Makar’s coaches know about him that a lacrosse fan doesn’t? Easy.

“That he still sleeps with a Yorktown football blanket,” Kevin Unterstein said.

The Atlas defensive coordinator said that Makar had a Yorktown Heights blanket neatly sprawled over his bed at training camp in Albany in June.

Makar is not only a native of Yorktown Heights, N.Y., but proud of it.

5. Romar Dennis

If you had to give 6-foot-5, 230-pound Dennis a superlative, what would it be?

Before you lean into “Fastest shot” or “Most Bull-like dodger on the Bulls,” his teammates would like a word.

Romar would be ‘Most likely to succeed on a reality TV show,’” Eric Law said in March.

“Ro could do any show. He could do ‘The Bachelor’ or ‘Love Island,’ for sure,” Baptiste said. “When I think of Ro in any situation, he’s thriving.”

Because as serious as Dennis is on the field, he’s just as un-serious off of it.

6. Danny Logan

Logan, or “Danny Lockdown,” as he’s been appropriately nicknamed, is a two-time Hard Hat winner, given to the best short-stick defensive midfielder. Logan first received the award as a rookie and again, the year later, in 2022.

Logan also recently won a gold medal with Team USA at the 2023 World Lacrosse Championships. It’s a metal, and medal, that runs in the family.

Logan is the nephew of Jud Logan, a four-time U.S. Olympic hammer thrower who was also a successful college track coach at Ashland University. Jud won gold at the 1987 Pan American Games, adding a silver medal at the event in 1991.

Jud died in January 2022 at age 62.

“You never fully know who your heroes are until they are gone,” Logan said of his uncle on social media. “I learned a great deal from my uncle Jud. How to work hard, how to compete, how to believe in myself. More than anything I learned what it takes to be a great person.”

7. Bryan Costabile

Coming off of back-to-back 20+ point seasons – and a major 37-point performance at the 2023 Championship Series – the Atlas midfielder has recorded 11 points (7G, 1T, 2A) through five games so far. 

Costabile is a proven point producer. He set the record at Notre Dame for most goals in a season (42) by a midfielder in 2019.

8. Gavin Adler

The first pick in the 2023 PLL Draft is second in the league in caused turnovers (8) heading into the All-Star game.

Adler also hasn’t been scored on more than twice by any one attacker. Marcus Holman, Brian Minicus, Josh Byrne, Matt Kavnagh and Asher Nolting netted two scores against Adler this season, and no more than nine players total have gotten past him for a score.

9. Xander Dickson

In five games played this season, the rookie midfielder has recorded five goals and five assists, immediately asserting himself as an off-ball threat.

Atlas coach Mike Pressler grabbed Dickson with the No. 11 pick in the 2023 PLL Draft. But if he thought Dickson was going to be taken off the board sooner than that, Pressler said he was ready to trade up for him.

“We had our eye on him the entire time at No. 11,” Pressler said.

The All-Star game starts at 7:30 p.m. ET on ESPN in Louisville, KY.